Mandates Aren’t From Heaven

June 20, 2007

mandate-of-heaven.jpg

I don’t like Mondays – mandates. I don’t think mandating health coverage is a winning issue for Democrats or the left, despite the fact that most Democrats and progressives seem to think it is. I wrote a piece for the progressive TomPaine.Com website explaining why:

The health reform debate has divided Democrats and confused the public. Plans have been offered by Presidential candidates, several states, and Sen. Ron Wyden. The success or failure of these plans, and perhaps of the Democratic Party, may eventually hinge on the public’s reaction to one issue: mandates that require individuals and/or employers to buy health insurance.

The rest of the piece is here.

One Response to “Mandates Aren’t From Heaven”


  1. Congratulations for the excellent weblog posting! I discovered your publish really attention-grabbing, I think you’re a clever writer. I add in your blog to my bookmarks and will return throughout the lengthy term. I want to encourage you to proceed that marvelous function, have a superb day!


Leave a Reply

